Will Printed Books Disappear? Stephen King On The Future Of The Traditional Paper Book

Stephen King - header

The book industry was rocked to its foundations last month when Tim Waterstone, founder of UK bookstore chain Waterstones, predicted the end of the eBook revolution in the UK.  According to ‘The Telegraph’ he insists that the eBook is a declining fad, and that traditional printed paper books are not only as strong as ever, but are here to stay.

Click to continue…

3 Deadly Traps For A Writer

Typing Flames

Guest post by author Roger Colby, who previously contributed our most Tweeted post ever, a record breaking 1272 Tweets: J.R.R. Tolkien’s Top 10 Tips for Writers.

His next book Come Apart’ is his third novel, a science fiction mystery in the tradition of ‘Lost’ and ‘The Prisoner’.  It will be released in a few weeks.

Roger and I are very interested to hear your thoughts on this new post.  Please do leave a comment at the end of the article.

Click to continue…

How To Get More Amazon Book Reviews

Child Typing“Take a letter please Miss Skelton…”

Did you know that in Victorian times, and right through to the 1970s, the very first thing a business manager would always do was hire a dictation typist?

Why?

The number #1 reason is that typing a letter was the most tiresome chore a manager could imagine.  It was also an inefficient use of their time. So they were more than happy to pay someone to do it for them – a person who’d note down their ideas, and tidy them up into a letter.

Unfortunately, a similar dislike of such work applies to fiction readers today.

Reading your book can be a delightful experience and an enjoyable escape, but writing an Amazon review is a mentally taxing task most readers simply don’t want to do, and will almost invariably avoid.

Even readers who’ve promised to review your book will usually fail to do so.

Click to continue…

How A Teacher Spread His Message And Became A New York Times Best-Selling Author

Jolly Roger

Today’s guest post is by Dave Burgess, who successfully self-published his non-fiction book ‘Teach Like A Pirate’  —–

Teach Like A Pirate Book

‘Teach Like A PIRATE’ 
Increase Student Engagement, Boost Your Creativity,
and Transform Your Life as an Educator

Click to continue…

Doorways That Lead To More Readers
For Your Books

Celebrity Doors

There is a doorway to every single fiction reader in the world, and there are MILLIONS of them.

Question is, how do you persuade them to open their doors and buy your book?

Unfortunately, most of my author friends attempt to solve this in precisely the wrong way. They hammer on one door after another like a old style door-to-door salesman, and in the rare instance a door opens, they immediately shout at the owner: “Buy my book!”

Click to continue…

The REAL Secret To Writing A Bestseller

Bestseller SecretThe harsh reality for many writers dreaming of having a best-selling book is that they’re marooned in a permanent state of procrastination.

Sound all too familiar?  Fortunately there’s a remarkably simple way to break free of this that my father taught me.  He advised: “All you have to remember is this: ‘Beginning Is Half Done’.”  

I don’t think anyone would disagree with this, least of all me, because it’s proved to be amazingly beneficial to my productivity.

The ‘Secret To Writing A Bestseller’ poster above is taped to the wall over my writing desk and keeps me motivated.  I thought you would find it motivating too, so if you’d like to post it on your own wall, just right click on the image, save it and print it out, or even use it on your own blog with a link back here.

Click to continue…

5 Rules For Conquering Chaos That Every Writer Should Know

Frazelled Writer 2am.
How does an aspiring writer avoid the seemingly endless pitfalls and perils of a writing career when starting out?

The answer to this question is the subject of today’s guest post by Claudette Young.

Claudette Young

Claudette has written about craft for Wordsmith Studio and other venues, and has been through the ‘author mill’.  Based on her experiences she’s developed 5 Rules For Writers to make the journey easier, and kindly agreed to share them. 

Click to continue…

The Key To Growing Readership: Your ‘Writer’s Voice’

Fantasy Castle Italic

“All shall dissolve, and leave not a rack behind … ”   

There’s no escape.  Every material thing in this world will eventually crumble to dust… including you.  Nothing will be remembered, except for something truly extraordinary:

Your stories. 

William Shakespeare

But not just any stories.  I’m going to make a crucial point here that determines whether you’ll succeed as a fiction writer, and whether your work will last.

Click to continue…

10 Things I’ve Learned About Being A Novelist

Isaac Asimov On Throne

Today’s guest post is by Roger Colby, author and English teacher.  His previous guest post was ‘J.R.R. Tolkiens Top 10 Tips For Writers.’   

Roger has been through the mill of writing and is currently taking part in NaNoWriMo. (National Novel Writing Month.)  He has written this post to help other writers by revealing what he’s learned on his voyage of discovery as a writer.

Click to continue…